From a Distance…

A couple of weeks ago I was asked what there is to see in Melbourne. Maybe compared to Sydney Melbourne doesn’t have the opera House or Harbour Bridge, but there’s still lots to take in. But in this post I’m focusing on only one aspect of Melbourne. Or should I say one part of Melbourne from different aspects? That part is the CBD/Docklands area, which also happens to be where I’m staying. Not biased or anything. The CBD and Docklands both stop pretty suddenly in the sense that the skyscrapers end and houses/smaller shops begin. Therefore, you don’t have to travel far outside of the CBD to get an easy ‘Melbourne skyline’ shot. In fact, two of my photos today are taken from different spots in the Botanical Gardens, next to the CBD. Melbourne’s skyline is never quite the same twice and whenever I travel to a new part of the city it manages to capture my attention in some new way. So to any new visitor I would say see the centre, explore further out, go to the beach or a quirky suburb; but don’t forget to look out at the horizon. I’m certainly never disappointed!

Leave a comment